National Junior Honor Society inductees on stage on Oct. 7, 2021.

Nineteen outstanding scholars at Silver Creek Middle School were feted on a recent morning (Thursday, Oct. 7, 2021) during a National Junior Honor Society induction ceremony in the district auditorium.  

These top Black Knights were lauded for their scholarship, service, leadership, character and citizenship during a socially distanced ceremony in front of their parents/guardians.  

The ceremony began with the Pledge of Allegiance led by high school NHS member Jade Bouvier followed by a welcome and introduction by SCMS Principal Eleanor Payne.   

“Our chapter is proud to have been inducting new members since 2018 and with today’s ceremony indicates the continuing emphasis on excellence that we represent for our school and community,” said Payne. “Throughout the year, members of our chapter serve as role models for other students. We hope this will serve to remind you of the standard of excellence you are charged with as a member of one of the nation’s oldest, largest and most prestigious student’s recognition programs.” 

  After the overview of the five components of membership of the NJHS, the inductees recited the NJHS pledge. Yanna Mott discussed scholarship, Riley Herling talked about service, Jade Bouvier gave an overview of leadership, Tabitha Shevlin went into detail about character and Karissa Buchanan defined citizenship  

Congratulations to seventh-graders Lillian DeNisco, Molly Shaw, Gwen Souter, Kiele Boedo, Mia Bella Delmonte, Khloe Karnes, Rylee Weiskerger, Ben O’Dell, Addison Volk, and Kyla Zeiger as well as eighth-graders Lexi Parks, Vincent Olmstead, Bella Banach, Sam Bowers, Ella Austin, Irelynd Henry, Kim Bauer, Josh Guadagno, and Haleigh Salisbury on their accomplishment. All inductees are formally recognized after being selected for this honor by the faculty and after successfully completing their NJHS candidacy requirements.   

Principal Payne wrapped up the ceremony by thanking people. The inductees voiced appreciation to Superintendent Todd A. Crandall, Principal Payne, NJHS advisor Mrs. Cassandra Roberts, the NHS faculty council, teacher Mrs.Carolyn, Laurenzi-Timmerman, Miss Kristen Foley and the high school NHS members and everyone who assisted in putting the ceremony together. They also thanked the teachers and staff for their dedication, mentoring and contributions toward the success of all students.