Junior National Honor Society Welcomes 19 Members

Junior National Honor Society Welcomes 19 Members
Posted on 10/08/2019

2019 Jr. NHS inductees on stage
Nineteen students from Silver Creek Middle School were recognized for their academic accomplishments during the inaugural induction ceremony for the Junior National Honor Society in the campus auditorium Thursday, Oct. 3, 2019.


District staff and loved ones of the inductees gathered to formally recognize the eighth-graders for successfully completing their candidacy requirements and being inducted as new members. Teachers who recommended the new inductees said a few words on each inductee’s behalf and listed some of their admirable qualities.


“Today’s ceremony indicates the continuing emphasis on excellence that we represent for our school and community,” said SCMS Principal Eleanor Payne during the morning ceremony held Oct. 3. “Throughout the year, members of this chapter will serve as role models for other students.”


Principal Payne noted she is thankful to former guidance counselor Rebecca Kobielski for all her hard work in getting the Jr. NHS off the ground and new guidance counselor/Jr. NHS advisor Kelsey Alfred for continuing that work. She is also grateful for the support of Superintendent Todd Crandall, teachers Carolyn Laurenzi, Kristen Foley, and the officers of the high school NHS for assisting with the ceremony. 


In order to be invited to join the Jr. NHS, students need a grade point average of 90 or above, must obtain two teacher recommendations and write a personal statement essay discussing who they are and what makes them unique with a focus on character, citizenship, leadership, scholarship and service. The inductees received a certificate and a Junior NHS pin after reading aloud the NHS pledge in unison along with the teachers who recommended them.

The 2019 inductees are: Rachael Beadle, Gabriel Bistrisky, Thomas Boothe, Emily Bowers, Tessa Braidich, Sarah Cross, Julie Decker, Jack Ewing, Scott Flick, Katelyn Gard, Emma Gretschmann, Jorge Hasbun, Thomas Hogg, Lucas Lawrie, Levi Lawton, Dean League, John Steinwachs, Stephanie VanCheri and Kaelee Weiskerger.

The ceremony was followed by a reception in the foyer featuring light refreshments for parents and students as Superintendnet Crandall, Principal Payne and Ms. Alfred congratulated these outstanding Black Knights and members of the Class of 2024 on their accomplishment.